Over The Hills and Far Away

Over The Hills And Far Away

OVER THE HILLS AND FAR AWAY is the band’s first EP. It was released to help fans wait between the Wishmastour and the following album. Over The Hills And Far Away is a song by Gary Moore, that was updated by Nightwish in their very own style. This track is upbeat, fast, and really entertaining when played live! With this cover, Nightwish also offers the fans two new songs and a remake of one of their songs from their first album, “Astral Romance”.

Release date: May 2001
Number of copies sold: double platinum record in Finland.
Written and composed by Tuomas Holopainen except:
Over The Hills And Far Away written and composed by Gary Moore.
Amazon link: buy

01. Over The Hills And Far Away
02. Tenth Man Down
03. Away
04. Astral Romance (2001 Remake)



CDOver the Hills had a very peculiar career. Indeed, it was released as a four-track single in Finland, and the live CD came out in that country at the same time. However, this live CD only came out in Finland so many countries chose to release a more complete version of Over the Hills and Far Away, by adding some live tracks to the track list. Drakkar Records also got a move on, as usual, adding a few Korean surprising versions. All in all, there was an impressive number of versions made for what had been a simple EP in the beginning!






More infos !

Over The Hills And Far Away history:
The Wishmastour was a big success for the band that was able to tour around the world as a headliner for the first time. Wishmaster also did well and had great results in many countries like France. Yet, Nightwish did not rest and quickly went to the studio to record an EP, to help fans wait between the Wishmastour and the following album that was supposed to be released in 2002 only (it was actually released on May 31, 2002). This is when they decided to make a cover and a song by Gary Moore was chosen. Yet, they could not release an EP with only one new song, especially a cover, so Nightwish also recorded two unreleased tracks: Tenth Man Down, a track in which Wilska sings the male vocals and Away, a new and enchanting ballad. Nightwish also recorded Astral Romance again – a new version as far as the music is concerned as well as the lyrics that were changed for the occasion. Tony Kakko the singer and leader of the great band called Sonata Arctica sings the male vocals (instead of Tuomas in the original version).

Tenth Man Down on French TV:
Tenth Man Down’s introduction was used as a soundtrack for a commercial for TPS channels. The story is simple: TPS was looking for a music that could fit with the images from their new commercial campaign. XIII Bis Records suggested that they used Tenth Man Down and the producers were convinced by this song! That’s how millions of people heard a song by Nightwish (or at least a part of it) at least once in their lives, without even knowing it!

From Wishes To Eternity, the Audio CD:
The live album « From Wishes to Eternity », which is the audio version of the DVD, was only released in Finland (the group was very well known there and was then able to release two CDs in a short period of time). That is why France and the rest of the European countries had to content themselves with a more complete version of Over the Hills and Far Away, that only contained extracts from this live CD. However, it is possible for you to order it on the Nightwish Shop.


  • Finland 2001 - Spinefarm - SPI118CD - mini CD - photo1 - photo2 - photo3 - photo4 - photo5
  • Finland 2001 - Spinefarm - SPI134CD - CD promo
  • Finland 2001 - Spinefarm - SPI134CD - CD
  • Finland 2001 - Spinefarm - SPI134dg - CD - digipack
  • Argentina 2001 - NEMS Enterprises - NEMS 274 - CD - photo1
  • Brazil 2001 - Rock Brigade - BRB-LCR 2790 - CD
  • Russia 2001 - FONO Records - f070CD - CD - golden cd - photo1
  • France 2001 - XIII Bis Records - 135062 - CD - photo1 - photo2
  • Japan 2002 - Toy's Factory - TFCK-87277 - CD - with 5 bonus tracks
  • South Korea 2002 - One Music - ERCD-339 - CD - photo1
  • Mexico 2002 - Scarecrow Records - SC02034 - CD - digipack - photo1 - photo2
  • Europe 2002 - Drakkar - 74321 86443 2 - CD
  • Europe 2002 - Drakkar - 74321 86853 9 - DVD+ version - digipack - photo1
  • China 2003 - Universal - HDCD-395 - CD - cardboard-wrap
  • USA 2004 - Century Media - 8212-2 - CD
  • UK 2004 - Back On Black Records - BOBV007DPD - LP - double picture vinyl limited edition
  • UK 2007 - Spinefarm UK - CD "Reloaded" - with bonus tracks, new booklet, etc... - photo1
  • UK 2007 - Spinefarm UK - Double LP "Reloaded" - two LP in white color - photo1
  • Abbreviation key :
    CD : compact disc
    LP : vinyl record (33-1/3 rpm)
    7" - 10" - 12" vinyl : 7, 10, 12 inches vinyl record
    MC : Cassette audio = audio tape
    2CD : Double CD
    MCD : Maxi-CD
    CDS : CD Single
    mini-CD : Single in an album-size box
    VD : Video-disc